April 28th Racing

april 28th flier 2018


For Immediate Release

Orrville, Ohio

By Mike Swanger

This Saturday night, April 28th, the Modifieds will return to Jani Auto Parts Wayne County Speedway for the first time since April 16, 2016 when Johnny Scott posted the win. This will be the first of four visits to WCS for the Modifieds with July 14th, August 11th and August 25 the other dates for the Modifieds.

The Kar Connection Super Late Models will hit the 3/8 mile oval for the second time this season as Ryan Markham will look to capture his second checkered flag of the season. Markham made a last lap slider pass in turn two to steal the win away from Franklin, Pa.’s Matt Lux in last weeks feature.

The CorBon Super Stocks along with the WQKT 104.5 Mini Stocks will start their season this Saturday night also. Bob Daugherty (Super Stocks) and Cory Staley (Mini Stocks) were the Track Champions last season at ‘Orrville’s Historic Oval.”

Gates will open at 3 pm with Hot Laps at 6 pmand first race at 7 pm.

Fans can text WCSFAN to 51660 to get the latest update on the track and also get  $2 off a general admission ticket to a regular race night. Also go to www.waynecountyspeedway.com for more information about the track and like us at facebook.com/waynecountyspeedway.



April 21st 2018 Results

april 21st winners 2018


Orrville, Ohio

Saturday, April 21, 2018

For the first time during his illustrious career, the “Steel City Outlaw” Tim Shaffer is an Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 main event winner at Jani Auto Parts Wayne County Speedway. The Aliquippa Pa. native, who bumped his career win total to 62 during All Star competition, earned his $5,000 payday in fantastic fashion, battling forward from the outside of row four to track down race long leader, Chad Kemenah, with just nine circuits remaining. Shaffer’s performance, his second All Star victory of the 2018 season, also earned him the MSD Performance Hard Charger Award for Advancing the most positions. All Star main event pole sitter, Carson Macedo, who also worked around Kemenah during the later laps of the 30 lap program, finished second at “Orrville’s Historic Oval”, followed by Parker Price-Miller and Spencer Bayston, who set a new track record of 13.808 seconds during qualifying.

“That was a blast tonight. What a car we had,” Tim Shaffer said in Wayne County Speedway victory lane. “Cody Jacobs gave me a great car here tonight. We wanted this one bad. We always seemed to struggle when we came here, but tonight was different. We started eighth, but just kept on going.

Shaffer’s march to the front started immediately, advancing into top five position early and knocking on the door for a podium spot just before the main events only caution appeared on lap 11, The single file restart was just the ticket for the driver of the Demyan-Rudzik Racing/ Rudzik Excavating #49 sprint car, moving around Parker Price-Miller for third by the completion of lap 11, then overtaking Carson Macedo for second on lap 12.

In the meantime, Hunter Racing’s Chad Kemenah, who led from the drop of the green flag, was beginning to gain a slight advantage over Shaffer. The six time and defending All Star champion found himself in heavy traffic by lap 17 which gave Shaffer the opportunity he needed to close the gap. By lap 20, Shaffer was in striking distance, making his first official bid for the top spot on lap 22 with a textbook slider through turns three and four. The bid for the lead worked, solidifying Shaffer’s position at the top of the running order.

Just two circuits later, Macedo was able to work by Chad Kemenah, now setting aim for the “Steel City Outlaw.” Although closing the gap to just over one second, Macedo’s hourglass ran empty, crossing under the final checkers 1.28 seconds behind the Demyan-Rudzik Racing entry.

” I just had to be patient,” Shaffer explained. “I was really racing hard, but I wanted to give myself a chance to win. I just had to be careful with the lapped cars that were starting to stack up in front of me. We just had to nail down smart laps and be there at the end. It feels good to beat these guys here tonight.”

In the companion Kar Connection Super Late Model feature, Franklin Pa’s Matt Lux would start on the pole of the 25 lap feature and hold off the early challenge from Brad Mickley the first two laps and at that point, Mickley’s power plant went up in smoke as he pulled off the track. At that point J R Gentry tried to keep the pressure on Lux but Gentry would slide high in turn two on lap 5 that allowed Ryan Markham to move into the runner up spot. The caution flag would fly on lap 7 for a stopped Austin Goon in turn two and on the restart, the race was on. Lux would hold the lead running the middle groove as Markham would take the low side of the racing service to challenge lap after lap. Those two would distance their selves from the field as Gentry would run uncontested in third. Charlie Duncan and Brad Malcuit would battle for fourth place in the last half of the race with Cody Scott on their bumpers.

As the laps dwindled, Markham would be able to get side by side with Lux in the corners but Lux would out drag Markham down the straightaway’s. As the white flag waved, Markham’s persistence finally paid off as he was able slide the H&T Demolition, Harriger Towing, Elite Auto and Dzugan Realty #5m in front of Lux in turn two to snare the lead and win his first feature of the season at WCS by a car length. Markham also earned the Accu Force Shocks Hard Charger Award. Gentry would finish third behind Lux as as Duncan held off Malcuit for fourth. Heat winners were Gentry and Lux.

Jani Auto Parts Wayne County Speedway will be back in action Saturday, April 28th with the Modifieds joining the Kar Connection Super Late Models, the CorBon Super Stocks and the WQKT 104.5 Mini Stocks on the racing card.

Fans can text WCSFAN to 51660 for the latest text alerts or go to www.waynecountyspeedway.com or like us at facebook.com/waynecountyspeedway


Saturday, April 21, 2018


Fast Qualifier  Spencer Bayston  13.808  NTR

Heat   1   Carl Bowser, Lee Jacobs, Aaron Reutzel, Travis Philo, Cale Conley, Cole Duncan, Nick Patterson, Jason Dolick

Heat   2   Carson Macedo, Chad Kemenah, Jac Haudenschild, Tim Shaffer, John Garvin, Max McGhee, Hunter Mackison, Jordan Ryan

Heat   3   Bryan Sebetto, Jordan Mackison, Ayrton Olsen, Ryan Broughton, Mitch Harble, Danny Mumaw, Michael Bauer, Jack Sodeman

Heat   4   Parker Price-Miller, Dave Blaney, Spencer Bayston, Trevor Baker, Brandon Spithaler, Tyler Esh, Brad Haudenschild, Chase Baker

Dash #1   Carson Macedo, Spencer Bayston, Lee Jacobs, Carl Bowser, Jordan Mackison

Dash #2   Chad Kemenah, Parker Price-Miller, Dave Blaney, Tim Shaffer, Bryan Sebetto

B-Main    Tyler Esh, Max McGhee, Cole Duncan, Hunter Mackison, Danny Mumaw, Jason Dolick, Nick Patterson, Chase Baker, Michael Bauer, Brad Haudenschild dns, Jack Sodeman Jr. dns

Feature    Tim Shaffer, Carson Macedo, Chad Kemenah, Parker Price-Miller, Spencer Bayston, Lee Jacobs, Jac Haudenschild, Bryan Sebetto, Aaron Reutzel, Dave Blaney, Jordan Mackison, Travis Philo, Cale Conley, Brandon Spithaler, Carl Bowser, Trevor Baker, Mitch Harble, John Garvin, Cole Duncan, Tyler Esh, Max McGhee, Ayrton Olsen, Ryan Broughton, Hunter Mackison


Heat   1   J R Gentry, Ryan Markham, Cody Scott, Brandon Groters, D J Miller, Brett Bee, Jim Nicely, Jason Skelly

Heat   2   Matt Lux, Brad Mickley, Charlie Duncan, Brad Malcuit, Jerry Aber, Kyle Moore, Michael Amick, Austin Goon

Feature   Ryan Markham, Matt Lux, J R Gentry, Charlie Duncan, Brad Malcuit, Cody Scott, D J Miller, Jerry Aber, Kyle Moore, Jason Skelly, Michael Amick, Austin Goon, Brett Bee, Jim Nicely, Brad Mickley, Brandon Groters dns