Jac Haudenschild Wins At NAPA AUTO PARTS Wayne County Speedway



Orrville, Ohio

Saturday, April 16, 2016

By Tyler Altmeyer, RoD, & Mike Swanger
In front of a full house on opening night at NAPA Wayne County Speedway, the “Wild Child” Jac Haudenschild lived up to his prestige on Saturday night as he swept the entire Arctic Cat All Star program in fantastic fashion. The Wooster driver kicked off the evening by setting a new track record of 14.125 seconds during qualifying and then won his heat race, the dash and led all 30 laps of the $5,000 to win main event. Haudenschild’s Arctic Cat All Star win was the 1st of his career at NAPA Wayne County Speedway, raising the overall bar to 29 victories with the series during his storied career. The pilot of the Jamie Miller owned #6 utilized the very topside of the speedway, earning the victory by 2.221 second over Danny Holtgraver and defending Arctic Cat All Star champion Dale Blaney.

“We’ve been struggling a little bit, but this certainly feels good,” explained Jac Haudenschild in victory lane. “Always feels great coming back here and it always feels great to get a win. Jamie Miller always comes through for me. With a little help from Bonzai Bruns and the crew, we got this thing together in time for tonight. This is really special. I’ve always loved coming to Wayne County Speedway. Hopefully we can get back here and do it again soon.”

Pittsburgh’s Danny Holtgraver followed Jac Haudenschild to the checkers on Saturday night. The pilot of the Pete Grove owned Premiere Motorsports #70 started 4th on the feature grid, but raced inside the top three the entire 30 lap distance. “Downtown” battled for the final podium spot for the first 15 circuits, racing close behind Jac and Sheldon Haudenschild until inheriting the runner up spot during a lap 16 caution.

On lap 16, while chasing his father through traffic, Sheldon Haudenschild made contact with a lapped car, bringing the Haudenschild Racing, Southern Pacific Farms #93 to a stop between turns three and four. The five time Arctic Cat All Star winner in 2015 would be forced to restart at the tail of the field after starting on the front row beside his dad.

The Renegade of Modifieds ‘Heritage 101’ would wrap up their three race weekend and despite the evident signs of attrition that took its toll on the trimmed down car count, the race action was excellent. The night got off to a fast start as Jacob Hawkins set a new track record of 18.027 seconds and then went out and won heat one while second heat was a barn burner between Las Cruces New Mexico’s brothers Johnny and Stormy Scott as they would go side by side all race long with Johnny winning at the line.

Jacob Hawkins won the redraw to start on the pole of the 25 lap feature with Johnny Scott along side as those two were separated by just 13 points as they battled for the overall three race prize. Hawkins grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag but Scott quickly pulled along side and the would go back and forth with the lead as Scott would take the higher line around the speedway to take the lead for good on lap 14 and go on to put the Ranch Milagro Racing, Allgayer Inc. and Mizsilla Valley Transport #1st in victory circle for the second night in a row. Stormy Scott finished third with Rich Michael Jr and DJ Cline filled out the top five.

Hawkins held on to the points win and on the front stretch after the race, elected to take the $10,101 over the S&P Harley Davidson motorcycle. “As much as I would love to ride this bike back to Fairmont WV., I’m happy to announce that me and my wife have a baby on the way, so I have to take the cash”.

The Action Auto Body Super Stocks saw their first action of the season with Applecreek’s Gary Hensel Jr. leading all 15 laps of the caution marred feature. The Lochvale Farms, DJ Directional, and J&M Carpentry #28h of Hensel Jr. started on the pole with Frank Oriti along side. A couple of cautions in the first four laps for spun cars kept the field bunched together plus Tyler Thompson got sideways while running third and collected Chaz O’Dell and Jordan James with those two having to be hauled back to the pits. As the green flag waved again, Oriti would try to squeeze underneath of Hensel Jr on lap five in turn four as both would spin. Oriti was charged with the caution and Hensel Jr. held on to the lead. Early contenders Chase Alexander, Brandon Gardner and Tyler Nicely had mechanical issues as they dropped out midway in the race. Tyler Thompson recovered from his early spin to finish second with Paul Kern, Cliff Staley and Chris Albright rounding out the top five. Heat winners were Alexander and Hensel Jr.

The season long points battle for the Fisher Performance Sprints, the Harriger Towing Super Late Models, the Action Auto Body Super Stocks, the Kar Konnection Rush Late Models and the WQKT Mini Stocks, who will be running the 1st of their ‘Summer Series’ races with $300 to win, along with the Flat Track Carts will begin next Saturday, April 23 at NAPA WCS.


Saturday, April 16, 2016


Quick Timer Jac Haudenschild 14.125 (ntr)

Heat 1 Jac Haudenschild, Rob Chaney, Caleb Armstrong, Brent Marks, Danny Holtgraver, Lee Jacobs, Hunter Schuerenburg, Shawn Dancer, Joe Kubiniec, Kraig Kinser

Heat 2 Sheldon Haudenschild, Cap Henry, Kory Crabtree, Brandon Spithaler, TJ Michael, Ryan Smith, Caleb Helms, Travis Philo, Andrew Palker, Troy Kingan

Heat 3 Chad Kemenah, Tim Shaffer, Dale Blaney, Brad Haudenschild, Cole Duncan, Tyler Courtney, Danny Mumaw, Nick Patterson, Brad Howard, Bryan Sebetto dns, Mitch Harble dns

Dash Jac Haudenschild, Sheldon Haudenschild, Dale Blaney, Danny Holtgraver, Cap Henry, Rob Chaney, Caleb Armstrong, Cole Duncan

B Main Caleb Helms, Andrew Palker, Hunter Schuerenburg, Travis Philo, Danny Mumaw, Brad Howard, Kraig Kinser, Joe Kubiniec, Nick Patterson, Troy Kingan, Shawn Dancer, Bryan Sebetto, Mitch Harble dns

Feature Jac Haudenschild, Danny Holtgraver, Dale Blaney, Chad Kemenah, Cap Henry, Cole Duncan, Tim Shaffer, Rob Chaney, Brent Marks, Brad Haudenschild, Caleb Armstrong, TJ Michael, Sheldon Haudenschild, Kory Crabtree, Caleb Helms, Ryan Smith, Tyler Courtney, Danny Mumaw, Travis Philo, Brandon Spithaler, Lee Jacobs, Andrew Palker, Hunter Schuerenburg, Brad Howard


Quick Timer Jacob Hawkins 18.027 (ntr)

Heat 1 Jacob Hawkins, Rich Michael Jr., Jesse Wisecarver, Kevin Miller, Justin Hart

Heat 2 Johnny Scott, Stormy Scott, Denny Benjamin, DJ Cline

Feature Johnny Scott, Jacob Hawkins, Stormy Scott, Rich Michael Jr., DJ Cline, Jesse Wisecarver, Denny Benjamin, Kevin Miller, Justin Hart


Heat 1 Chase Alexander, Frank Oriti, Tyler Thompson, Brandon Gardner, Cliff Staley, Chris Albright, Jordan James, Paul Kern

Heat 2 Gary Hensel Jr., Chaz O’Dell, Tyler Nicely, Tod Bevilocqua, Don Rutt, TA Perrine, Jim Nicely dns, Ryan Leathers dns

Feature Gary Hensel Jr., Tyler Thompson, Paul Kern, Cliff Staley, Chris Albright, Tod Bevilocqua, Frank Oriti, Chase Alexander, Brandon Gardner, Ryan Leathers, Tyler Nicely, Jordan James, Chaz O’Dell, Don Rutt, TA Perrine dns, Jim Nicely dns