Results Sept. 4th 2016

pic 8-4-16 sprints sunset


Orrville, Ohio

Sunday, September 4, 2016

By Tyler Altmeyer & Mike Swanger

For the second time in as many days, Sheldon Haudenschild pocketed $10,000 during Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions competition, this time in dominating fashion during a non-stop event at the NAPA Wayne County Speedway in Orrville, Ohio. Haudenschild, pilot of the Southern Pacific Farms, Finzer Farms, Haudenschild Racing #93, led all 35 circuits of the Pete Jacobs Memorial at ‘Orrville’s Historic Oval’ on Sunday night, crossing the final checkers three seconds ahead of the competition. Now with eight victories on the season, as well as three consecutive since August 28, the Wooster native finds himself on top of the victory leaderboard during Arctic Cat All Star competition in 2016.

“Man, this crowd. Everything about this is just awesome,” Sheldon Haudenschild said in victory lane. “That’s what this is all about. To win in front of my hometown, is just awesome. Hats off to the entire track crew here tonight. They did a really good job preparing the race track. They worked in the top and bottom for us to race on, which really proved itself. I just can’t thank my guys enough for this. Everyone’s help is truly appreciated and I wouldn’t be here without them.”

Sheldon Haudenschild took the Pete Jacobs Memorial green flag from the inside of the second row, eventually driving by Dale Blaney at the exit of turn two, as well as Cap Henry at the exit of turn four, to officially lead lap one over the pair of Ohio natives. Haudenschild’s pace at the front of the field was untouchable, gaining a straightaway advantage by lap five using his familiar line at the top of the speedway. Traffic came into play for the first time shortly thereafter, but proved to be no distraction for Haudenschild, stretching his commanding lead to nearly five seconds by lap 18 of 35. Slower cars utilized the bottom lane of the speedway, allowing Haudenschild to work his line without losing momentum. By lap 25, traffic started to intensify with cars battling two and three wide for position in front of the leader. Despite the potential road block Haudenschild continued to navigate the outer rim of the speedway, still keeping a three to four second advantage over second place running Cole Duncan. In repeat fashion, Haudenschild kept his nose clean during the final ten circuits, driving on to score a 14th career Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions victory, his 13th since June of 2015.

“That’s just my mindset every time we hit the track, ya know,” Haudenschild explained. “You have to make every lap count. I really tried to minimize my mistakes, which was really hard to do on this racetrack. Both corners were different and sometimes got me caught up. I almost got balled up once or twice, but it was all worth it and a lot of fun.”

Cole Duncan finished behind Haudenschild after starting on the outside of row two, followed by current Arctic Cat All Star point leader Dale Blaney, Chad Kemenah and Cap Henry. Duncan raced inside the top five during the entire main event, battling in the third position permanently by lap 19, all before sneaking by Dale Blaney in traffic for the runner up spot on lap 24.

Paul Holmes would set the early pace from his outside front row starting position of the Action Auto Body Super Stock feature but on lap seven of the race, the power plant of Holmes’ #68 decided to go up in smoke and end his night. That would put Randolph’s Jim Nicely into the lead. Driving the Sarchione Ford, Tires and More and B-Nice Racing #72, Nicely would put some space between himself and Cliff Staley and Bob Daugherty. Staley would slip high in turn two on lap nine and allow Daugherty to move into second.  Daugherty would track down Nicely and on the final lap was on the back bumper of Nicely but could not make the pass coming out of turn four as Nicely claimed his first win of the season.  Staley held on to third in front of Brandon Craver and Jordan James.

Matt Aber was looking to sweep the Kar Connection Rush Late Model action as he won the heat was and led the first 11 laps of the feature. A caution on lap nine for a spun Bob Fry would double file the restart and Aber elected to start on the outside with Millersburg’s Charlie Duncan on the inside. The two would go side by side for the next two circuits before Duncan was able to slide up in front of Aber to take the lead for good and post his third win of the year aboard the Hall’s Auto Sales, Kar Connection and Auto Pro #240. Justin Chance would slip past Aber on the last lap for second as Fry finished fourth.

The next action coming up at NAPA Wayne County Speedway will be on Friday and Saturday, September 23rd and 24th for the Blow out that will feature the OVSCA Sprints, the final race of the Attica Raceway Park/ NAPA Wayne County Speedway Super Late Model Series and the final ‘Summer Series’ races for the Kar Connection Rush Late Models, the Action Auto Body Super Stocks and the WQKT Sports Country 104.5 Mini Stocks on Saturday night. Watch for details of the NEW (Never Ever Won) races for the Super Stocks and Mini Stocks on Friday night. This will be races for drivers that have never won a feature in any class before. Check the website at for more info on this race in the coming week.


Saturday, September 4, 2016

PETE JACOBS MEMORIAL- All Star Circuit of Champions

Fast Qualifier – Sheldon Haudenschild  14.376 seconds

Heat   1   Caleb Armstrong, Chad Kemenah, Gary Taylor, Andrew Palker, Danny Mumaw, Kraig Kinser, Brandon Hanks, Nick Patterson, Mitch Harble, DJ Foos, Bryan Nuckles

Heat   2   Brad Haudenschild, Cole Duncan, Dale Blaney, Brent Marks, Tim Shaffer, Jason Dolick, Bradley Howard, Josh Davis, Aaron Middaugh, Caleb Helms

Heat   3   Cap Henry, Sheldon Haudenschild, TJ Michael, Dean Jacobs, Lee Jacobs, Clay Riney, Shawn Hubler, Brandon Spithaler, Danny Holtgraver, Kory Crabtree

Dash   Cap Henry, Dale Blaney, Sheldon Haudenschild, Cole Duncan, Lee Jacobs, Chad Kemenah, Caleb Armstrong, Gary Taylor

‘B’-Main   DJ Foos, Brandon Hanks, Mitch Harble, Brandon Spithaler, Bradley Howard, Bryan Nuckles, Nick Patterson, Aaron Middaugh, Josh Davis, Shawn Hubler, Kory Crabtree, Caleb Helms, Danny Holtgraver

PETE JACOBS MEMORIAL Feature  Sheldon Haudenschild, Cole Duncan, Dale Blaney, Chad Kemenah, Cap Henry, Brent Marks, Gary Taylor, Kraig Kinser, Tim Shaffer, Caleb Armstrong, DJ Foos, Brandon Spithaler, Brad Haudenschild, TJ Michael, Danny Mumaw, Dean Jacobs, Bradley Howard, Mitch Harble, Brandon Hanks, Jason Dolick, Clay Riney, Andrew Palker, Bryan Nuckles, Lee Jacobs, Danny Holtgraver


Heat   1   Bob Daugherty, Cliff Staley, Darren Dawson, Charlie Dawson, Richard Grogg, Chris Albright, Blaine Aber, Don Rutt, Tod Bevilacqua

Heat   2   Paul Holmes, Jordan James, Jim Nicely, Todd Gallion, Brandon Craver, TA Perrine, Trae Schonauer, Matt Miller, Ryan Leathers, Brandon Gardner dns

Feature   Jim Nicely, Bob Daugherty, Cliff Staley, Brandon Craver, Jordan James, TA Perrine, Trae Schonauer, Charlie Dawson, Darren Dawson, Blaine Aber, Chris Albright, Richard Grogg, Tod Bevilacqua, Matt Miller, Todd Gallion, Don Rutt, Paul Holmes, Ryan Leathers, Brandon Gardner dns       


Heat   1   Matt Aber, Charlie Duncan, Justin Chance, Bob Fry

Feature   Charlie Duncan, Justin Chance, Matt Aber, Bob Fry