Orrville, Ohio
Monday, June 20, 2016
By Tyler Altmeyer & Mike Swanger
  After missing the main event on Sunday at Millstream Speedway, St Helena, California’s Rico Abreu made an impressive rebound and nearly swept round four of Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket at Orrville’s NAPA Wayne County Speedway to win the Duffy Smith Memorial on Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic night. Abreu earned victories during his respective heat race and dash after being the 7th fastest qualifier, all before leading all 30 circuits of the feature program. The $5,000 Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket victory was the 4th Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions win of his career, going back to back at NAPA Wayne County Speedway in 2016.
  “I just love being a part of this team. It’s all about preparation and these guys certainly make that happen,” explained Rico Abreu. “I love to watch my guys work. Even after a tough night like last night, they stayed focused and knew what they had to do to turn things around. Really glad to be up here again. Wayne County Speedway rreminds me so much of racing back home.”
  Rico Abreu took command of the feature field immediately after the initial green flag, winning the drag race into turns one and two with Andrew Palker and Jac Haudenschild in tow. the 30 lap main event was halted five times, two of which for red flag conditions during the first five circuits. Despite the frequent cautions, and a needed fuel stop on lap 22, Abreu kept the pace on the point, never feeling pressure from those racing behind him. Kyle Larson, who started third on the feature grid, maintained a top five running position the entire distance, eventually finishing second at the checkers. Fast qualifier Sheldon Haudenschild finished third followed by fifth row starter Danny Holtgraver and California native Carson Macedo.
“I’m just so comfortable here, “ said Rico Abreu. “ The turns were completely different here tonight. It really reminds me of Tulare back home in California. My style fits this place. I’m just really happy for my team. I think we are all excited to get back to this place.”
  In the companion Action Auto Body Super Stock main, Streetsboro’s Tyler Thompson held off Bob Daugherty to post his 4th win of the season and pocket the $1,000 winners share of the 25 lap feature. Driving the Nella Enterprises, R-T Fence Company and Action Auto Body #T2, held off an early challenge from fellow front row starter Gary Hensel Jr. as 15th and 16th starting Daugherty and Paul Holmes picked their way up through the field as Daugherty would take second on lap 11 with Holmes taking third from Hensel Jr. a lap later. Thompson would slide up the track on lap 13 that opened the door for Daugherty to take the point on lap 14 but the second generation driver came back to reclaim the lead on the next circuit. Daugherty would keep the pressure on as Holmes was right behind the leaders. With the checkered flag waited, Thompson and Daugherty were side by side coming out of turn four and Thompson would edge out Daugherty at the line for the narrow win. Tyler Nicely finished fourth behind Holmes as Chase Alexander recovered from an early caution to take fifth. Alexander, Tim Coen and Brandon Craver led the way in the heat races as Holmes topped the last chance race.
  Thanks to Jerry McClure racing and all the fans for raising over $1,800 for Brad Haudenschild as he continues to recover from his illness
  The next racing action at NAPA WCS will be Saturday, July 2 with the Ohio Sprint Car Series rolling in for a $2,500 to win feature along with the Harriger Towing Super Late Models, Kar Connection Rush Late Models, Action Auto Body Super Stocks and the WQKT Mini Stocks.
  Go to www.waynecountyspeedway.com for more information about upcoming events at the track.
Monday, June 20, 2016
Fast Qualifier   Sheldon Haudenschild  14.237 seconds
Heat   1   Kasey Kahne, Carson Macedo, Danny Holtgraver, Bryan Clauson, Andrew Palker, Tim Shaffer, TJ Michael, Paul May, Caleb Helms, Danny Mumaw, Bradley Howard, Danny Dietrich
Heat   2   Jac Haudenschild, Kyle Larson, Sheldon Haudenschild, Chad Kemenah, Byron Reed, Cap Henry, Travis Philo, Sean Zemunik, Alex Paden, Nick Patterson, Aaron Middaugh, Shawn Hubler
Heat   3   Rico Abreu, Lee Jacobs, Jamie Veal, Dean Jacobs, Dale Blaney, Tayler Malsam, Josh Baughman, Brandon Spithaler, Jordan Ryan, Jason Dolick, Michael Bauer, Tyler Dunn
Heat   4   Daniel Harding, Dominic Scelzi, Kraig Kinser, Cale Thomas, Parker Price-Miller, Andy Caruana, Stuart Williams, Troy Kingan, Roger Campbell, Jacob Wilson, Kory Crabtree, Brandon Wimmer dns
Dash      Rico Abreu, Andrew Palker, Kyle Larson, Jac Haudenschild, Carson Macedo, Kasey Kahne, Sheldon Haudenschild, Lee Jacobs
C-Main   Danny Mumaw, Jordan Ryan, Sean Zemunik, Nick Patterson, Alex Paden, Shawn Hubler, Andy Caruana, Jacob Wilson, Stuart Williams, Aaron Middaugh, Roger Campbell, Troy Kingan, Tyler Dunn, Brandon Wimmer dns
B-Main   TJ Michael, Tim Shaffer, Caleb Helms, Paul Holmes, Danny Dietrich, Travis Philo, Brandon Spithaler, Cap Henry, Tayler Malsam, Danny Mumaw, Bradley Howard, Michael Bauer, Josh Baughman, Jason Dolick, Jordan Ryan, Kory Crabtree
Feature   Rico Abreu, Kyle Larson, Sheldon Haudenschild, Danny Holtgraver, Carson Macedo, Kasey Kahne, Kraig Kinser, Chad Kemenah, Paul May, Dean Jacobs, Cale Thomas, Andrew Palker, Dominic Scelzi, Daniel Harding, TJ Michael, Cap Henry, Parker Price-Miller, Jamie Veal, Jac Haudenschild, Dale Blaney, Bryan Clauson, Danny Dietrich, Bryon Reed, Tim Shaffer, Caleb Helms
Heat   1   Chase Alexander, Tyler Thompson, Randy Smith, Brad Eagle, Paul Kern, Steve Ott, Bob Fry, Cliff Staley, Todd Sherwin dns
Heat   2   Tim Coen, Tyler Nicely, Chris Albright, Todd Gallion, Darren Dawson, Dustin Daugherty, Ryan Leathers dns
Heat   3   Brandon Craver, Gary Hensel Jr., Jordan James, Tim Myers, Bob Daugherty, Don Baney, Paul Holmes, Tod Beviloqua, TA Perrine
B- Main   Paul Holmes, Don Baney, TA Perrine, Dustin Daugherty, Cliff Staley, Steve Ott, Bob Fry, Tod Beviloqua dns, Todd Sherwin dns, Ryan Leathers dns
Feature   Tyler Thompson, Bob Daugherty, Paul Holmes, Tyler Nicely, Chase Alexander, Don Baney, Randy Smith, Gary Hensel Jr., Chris Albright, Cliff Staley, Darren Dawson, Brandon Craver, Tim Coen, Brad Eagle, TA Perrine, Jordan James, Tim Myers, Dustin Daugherty, Todd Gallion, Paul Kern