May 7th Results 2016



Orrville, Ohio

Saturday, May 7, 2016

By Mike Swanger

It was a night of wild racing action on Bechtel Services night that included a hour plus rain delay between the heat races and the features for the five class’ of cars at NAPA Wayne County Speedway Saturday night. It was the second night for the Attica Raceway Park/ NAPA Wayne County Speedway Super Late Model Challenge with 2014 Series champ Ryan Markham starting on the pole with Brad Malcuit alongside as Markham would grab the point at the drop of the green. Friday’s winner at ARP, Matt Irey would power past Malcuit on lap three and run in Markham’s tire tracks as they set a blistering pace to pull away from the field. Malcuit, Larry Bellman, Corey Conley and Rick Bond put on a four car battle for third. With seven circuits to go, Irey drove low into turn one and squeezed into the lead past Markham and started to pull away. At the same time, Bellman and Conley passed Malcuit for third as they dueled for third. Taking the white flag, Irey had a half a straightaway lead for the win but as he went into turn two, hit the guardrail, flattening his right front tire and sliding off the backside of the track. Before he could gather himself back together, Markham and his Ashland based, H &T Demolition, Harriger Towing and Innovative Graphics #5m sped by to post his second Harriger Towing Super Late Model win of the season. Bellman held off Conley for second as Irey limped to the finish line for fourth as Malcuit took fifth. Conley and Bond topped the heats. After the 1st week end of the ARP/WCS challenge, Irey has a three point lead over Markham.The next races for the challenge will be the weekend of July 8th and 9th.

Danny Mumaw took the pole position of the Fisher Performance Sprint main event and rocketed to a straightaway lead early in the feature as Jordan Ryan and Millersburg’s Brad Haudenschild battled for second. Finishing up lap 11, Mumaw would spin out in turn four giving up the lead to Ryan. Getting back to fourth two laps later, disaster would end Mumaw’s night as he tagged the guardrail in turn one and went nose over tail three times, ending up on the wrong side of the guardrail to stop the action. As the racing resumed, Ryan would set the pace with first heat winner Haudenschild looking for an opening and with eight laps to go, overpowered second heat winner Ryan for the lead and then drove away aboard the Kempthorn Auto Mall, Fire & Ice Pub and Simpson & Ham Signs #38k for his second win of the year. Nick Patterson moved up five spots from starting 8th to finish third behind Ryan as Jim Morris and Jason Dolick rounded out the top five.

Streetsboro’s Tyler Thompson cruised to his second Action Auto Body Super Stock win of season as he won his heat and started outside front row and was never challenged after the green flag dropped. As the Action Auto Body, R & T Fence Company and REM Finishes #T2 pulled away, a great battle for second ensued as Tyler Nicely and Chase Alexander went nose to tail and side by side all race long with Nicely edging out Alexander at the line for second. Ryan Leathers took a career best fourth place as Chris Albright collected fifth. Jordan James won a heat and finished sixth in the feature.

After a week’s rain delayed ‘Summer Series’ opener for the Kar Connection Rush Late Models, It was like Rush hour on the freeway at the start of the feature as pole sitter Ryan Markham, Eric Wilson, Justin Chance, Charlie Duncan and Jim Nicely were all bunched together within three car lengths of each other. With some beating and banging going on, Markham would receive a flat tire to send him to the pits for new rubber. Cortland’s Wilson would take over the lead with Chance trying to take over the top spot on the restart, but he would slip high in turn one on lap four and that allowed Duncan to move into the runner up position with Markham quickly back to third with Chance dropping to fourth. Driving the Mark Thomas Ford, Pennzoil and Hovis Tire & Automotive #27w, Wilson would maintain a five car length lead over Duncan to secure his first NAPA WCS checker flag. Markham and Chance finished third and fourth as Matt Aber finished fifth in his first appearance in the Rush Late Models.

It was a back and forth battle for the WQKT Mini Stock main as Smithville’s Brad Hensel and Wes Staley, both heat winners, would exchange the lead through out the race Hensel and his M & S Concrete, DJ Directional Services and Joy Ride Transportation #28 was the leader on the opening five laps but Staley was scored the leader on laps 6 – 9 before Hensel retook the point and held off Staley at the finish line. Dale Beckett moved into the third slot at the halfway mark and then kept Gary Hensel Jr. and Doug Hensel at bay as they rounded out the top five.

Jamie Johnson won the Flat Track Cart feature.

Drivers were once again competing for over $100,000 yearly awards from the Contingency Connection program.

Next Saturday night, May 14th, the Ohio Sprint Car Series will roll into NAPA Wayne County Speedway for a $2,500 to win feature with all four other class’ in action also. It will be School Spirit night also with the local High School showing the most spirit winning $250 for it’s athletic department.

Check the website for the latest happenings at the track at and on facebook/waynecountyspeedway


Saturday, May 7,2016


Heat 1 Corey Conley, Matt Irey, Larry Bellman, Kyle Moore, Vic Hottinger, Cody Endlich, Derrick Hubbard

Heat 2 Rick Bond, Ryan Markham, Brad Malcuit, Larry Kingseed, Jerry Aber, Brandon Gardner, Randy Davis

Feature Ryan Markham, Larry Bellman, Corey Conley, Matt Irey, Brad Malcuit, Rick Bond, Larry Kingseed, Kyle Moore, Brandon Gardner, Jerry Aber, Cody Endlich, Randy Davis, Derrick Hubbard, Vic Hottinger


Heat 1 Brad Haudenschild, Jim Morris, Mitch Harble, Clay Riney, Tyler Dunn

Heat 2 Jordan Ryan, Danny Mumaw, Jason Dolick, Nick Patterson, Scott Riley

Feature Brad Haudenschild, Jordan Ryan, Nick Patterson, Jim Morris, Jason Dolick, Clay Riney, Scott Riley, Danny Mumaw, Tyler Dunn, Mitch Harble


Heat 1 Jordan James, Chase Alexander, Brad Eagle, Chris Albright, Todd Sherwin, Tod Beviloqua, Steve Ott dns

Heat 2 Tyler Thompson, Tyler Nicely, Ryan Leathers, Don Rutt, Paul Kern

Feature Tyler Thompson, Tyler Nicely, Chase Alexander, Ryan Leathers, Chris Albright, Jordan James, Todd Sherwin, Paul Kern, Don Rutt, Tod Beviloqua, Brad Eagle, Steve Ott


Heat 1 Ryan Markham, Eric Wilson, Justin Chance, Charlie Duncan, Hiram Bachmann, Jim Nicely, Matt Aber, Vern Mardis

Feature Eric Wilson, Charlie Duncan, Ryan Markham, Justin Chance, Matt Aber, Jim Nicely, Hiram Bachmann, Vern Mardis


Heat 1 Brad Hensel, Stephen Crowe, Cory Staley, Briana Hensel, Braden Wert, Brian Tomblin, Jess Hensel, Kendra St. John, Zach Chaffin dns

Heat 2 Wes Staley, Dale Beckett, Gary Hensel Jr., Billy Parsons, David Keagy, Mitch Reichard, Rick Bays, Jim Burns, Doug Hensel

Feature Brad Hensel, Wes Staley, Dale Beckett, Gary Hensel Jr., Doug Hensel, Mitch Reichard, Stephen Crowe, Rick Bays, Cory Staley, Jess Hensel, Brian Tomblin, Kendra St. John, David Keagy, Braden Wert, Briana Hensel dns, Billy Parsons dns, Jim Burns dns, Zach Chaffin dns


Heat 1 Dan Hoffer, Chris Hoffer, Jamie Johnson, Coty Conway, Ron Jeffers, Alec Ousley

Heat 2 Chuck Conway, Brandon Gardner, Austin Johnson, Darryl Conkle, Ethan Rutherford

Feature Jamie Johnson, Dan Hoffer, Chuck Conway, Brandon Gardner, Darryl Conkle, Chris Hoffer, Coty Conway, Ron Jeffers, Alec Ousley, Austin Johnson, Ethan Rutherford